Full Metal Brownies

These are the best brownies you will ever make. No, really, we mean it this time.

Look mom, I'm a food blogger!

Look mom, I’m a food blogger!

I realize that the internet might need another brownie recipe like it needs a hole in its (theoretical) head, but you guys, these are really good, and I would not be posting their recipe here or proselytizing for them were it not all completely 100% true. Be aware that this is despite the fact that I dislike brownies in general, those dry, depressing, poorly mixed wads that you’ll find piled in a Tupperware container at a bakesale or potluck. “I made brownies!” they crow, and I hear a sad trombone.

UNTIL NOW!

Plate by Leah Rosenberg:  http://leahrosenberg.com/

Plate by Leah Rosenberg: http://leahrosenberg.com/

I was at work one morning when my friend (and boss) presented me with one of these. “Holy shit that’s good,” I thought to myself. Now, it’s not often that I emphatically mutter a cuss in a positive context when remarking on something I’ve eaten, but you just might do the same. When cut into small squares and served with vanilla ice cream, coffee, or something alcoholic like Calvados, these would be a totally appropriate dessert for a laid-back dinner. They’re more fudgy than cakey, no nuts or other weird stuff added, just a straight-up extension of the chocolate you use.

The recipe was concocted by my friend’s son, who hybridized an Alice Medrich recipe with “something he found on the internet”. As far as origins go, that’s about all I can tell you.  I have little doubt that it is the Medrich whose influence makes these brownies great.

FMB_1

Good ingredients are everything here, and if you don’t have chocolate with at least 70% cocoa content, wait to make the recipe until you do. I like to cut them into small, 2″ square morsels that will then keep in an airtight container for several days. These really rely on the eggs for levity and though I tried, they don’t veganize well (f that is what you’re looking for, I have heard several people rave about these xgfx brownies from Babycakes).

Full Metal Brownies (from the Camelia Street Test Kitchen)

8 oz. 70% bittersweet chocolate
8 Tbsp. unsalted butter
3 eggs
1 C. sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3/4 C. plus 1 Tbsp. all-purpose flour, sifted

Heat oven to 350°F. Line the bottom and sides of an 8″ square baking pan with foil.

In a double boiler or a heatproof bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water, melt the chocolate and butter.

In another bowl, beat the eggs, sugar, salt, and vanilla for 2 minutes.

Once the chocolate and butter have melted, remove from heat and dry off the bottom of the bowl or pot with a towel: you do not want any water to drip into the mixture as it is poured. Let the mixture cool so that it is still fluid and quite warm, but not hot: you do not want it to be so hot as to cook the eggs.

Fold the melted stuff and the flour into the sugar and egg mix. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 25 – 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Let cool completely before cutting.

Leave a Reply

