Juicing Citrus (Preserved Lemons)

Las limas

Mi querida limon

I made preserved lemons with some of the 5 lbs. of Meyers I got last weekend for a 3-citrus marmalade. Many bloggers have extolled the virtues of preserved lemons elsewhere so I don’t wish to proselytize for them here; I wish only to impart one small but tremendous technique to all of you.

A twee tableau

A twee tableau.

I used Paula Wolfert’s recipe (from Couscous and Other Good Food from Morocco), which is easy to follow and one that I have made before, and I used four sterilized pint jars, because that’s what I had handy. Each jar held 3-4 lemons. I used kosher salt until I ran out and then switched to sea salt, 1/4 cup per jar. Two of the jars include Wolfert’s Safi mix of cinnamon, bay leaf, coriander seed, cloves, and black peppercorns. (The pint sized jars are also nice for gift-giving.)

Clean the lemons, slice appropriately, pack with salt, squash and shove into jar, add spices and top with lemon juice. Let sit 30 days. Ta-da!

And now — perk your ears —

The thing to know, the one “takeaway” from this post, is this: for maximum juice extraction, slice your lemons lengthwise instead of crosswise.

That’s it.

PreservedLemons_5

You can get up to a tablespoon more juice per lemon by slicing it this way. Works with that hinged press thingy, too, not just the reamer. Works with limes. Works with juicing oranges. Try it. You will see.

Cupboard hangout time.

Cupboard hangout time.

I’m not certain if lots of people know about this but a.) aren’t talking about it or b.) are talking about it in internet places I don’t visit. Regardless, if you didn’t know, now you do. Now, go forth and juice more fruitfully. Amen.

Leave a Reply

